Some lessons on healing from Istanbul

IMG_2700There are times when we need healing. And there are times , when we discover that we need more healing. Well, essentially, we always need more healing, when we arrive to a point of understanding that we are essentially broken.

When I discovered it first, I was in Istanbul trying to talk out my deepest fears to Bosphorus. Bosphorus, I learned, knows how to keep secrets that I can’t tell to anyone else. Even to myself. Bosphorus also knew how to preserve them safely, so I no longer would carry them along my journey.

So the secrets stayed with Bosphorus and I left the town with a renewed sense of freedom. Because, the freedom worth it all and because I had to save myself. Since then, Bosphorus is an old friend. The dearest friend, always welcoming me with Turkish chai and sutlac. Since then Bosphorus is a keeper of my hidden treasures.

I am not by Bosphorus, but this spring is special, I have never learned so fast and so many things at once. It’s a jump. I fear the jumps, the bumps and mood swings. But I am learning to realise that although  we all are essentially broken,  sometimes we don’t really need fixing. We just need to love. Again.

NB. Click on image to view larger. All images are copyright of PandaDiscovers

